FREE Case Evaluation

Bucks County DUI Lawyer

A driving under the influence (DUI) charge in Bucks County can lead to severe penalties, especially if it is not a first offense. As a result it is important that you contact a Bucks County DUI lawyer as soon as you are charged so that they may begin investigating your case and developing the strongest defense possible.

Contacting a Bucks County DUI Lawyer

The important thing to remember if you are charged with DUI is not to panic. The first thing you should do is get in touch with a Bucks County DUI lawyer who can help protect you from the charges by establishing a personalized defense strategy, based on your unique needs and the facts of your case.

When you decide to work with an experienced Bucks County DUI lawyer, they’ll be able to lay out your basic defense options. These may include taking proactive measures like entering an alcohol counseling program to demonstrate that you are serious about driving safely. Such measures can help lessen the severity of any penalties dealt by the court.

A DUI attorney in Bucks County is dedicated to giving clients a high level of service, which means that we’re available to answer questions and will update you immediately about any developments with your case.

    To learn more about how we can help you to get your DUI charges reduced or dismissed, contact our law offices to conduct your initial consultation free of charge.

DUI Definitions and Penalties

Under Section 3802 of the Pennsylvania Code, there are many different levels of offense when it comes to DUI. However, the basic definition is: if you are impaired by any drugs or alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, you stand the chance of being convicted of a DUI.

More extreme offenses come with more extreme penalties, and these can range from a few days to a few years in jail. There are many ins and outs of these penalties that a seasoned Bucks County DUI lawyer will be able to walk you through, including license suspension or having to attend alcohol highway safety classes.

The minimum and maximum penalties are explained under Sections 3803 and 3804 of the Pennsylvania Code.

For a first DUI offense, you could face:

  • a minimum 6 months’ probation
  • up to 6 months in jail
  • a $300 fine

For a second offense, you could face:

  • 5 days to 6 months’ imprisonment
  • a fine of $300-$2,500

For a third offense, the penalty is:

  • 10 days to 2 years imprisonment
  • a fine of $500-$5,000

There are more severe penalties that accompany those DUI offenses that take place with extremely high blood alcohol content (BAC) levels. These can be measured by a breath test during the initial DUI stop, or by blood tests that are administered at the police station after an arrest is made.

The most important thing to remember is that you have options. By choosing to work with a Bucks County DUI lawyer, you’re securing an advocate who understands what sort of evidence is admissible in court. Your attorney may be able to prove that the police officer did not have sufficient reason to conduct a DUI stop in the first place or that certain BAC readings or biological evidence were incorrectly measured or mishandled.

The bottom line is this: working with a Bucks County DUI lawyer can give you the tools necessary to turn an unfortunate charge into a thing of the past. The earlier you get in touch with a lawyer, the earlier in the process they can begin helping you, even guiding you through the process of your initial court appearance.

Hiring a DUI Attorney in Bucks County

When it comes to assessing fines and jail time for a DUI, there is a wide range of variation for even the most severe offenses, and a dedicated Bucks County DUI lawyer will be able to strive for less severe penalties by presenting your case to the court in as favorable a light as possible. Consultations are free, so call today to learn more about the specifics of your charge and your legal options.