Those stopped for DUI under the age of 21 are given more restrictions by the law than people who are 21 or older. The normal blood alcohol content level acceptable for a driver who is 21 or older is 0.08 blood alcohol content. However, for people under the age of 21, the limit is much lower. Instead, it is 0.02 blood alcohol content and they will be given greater license suspensions of 12 to 18 months for driving under the influence at a young age.
A Delaware County underage DUI lawyer could advocate for someone who is facing DUI charges and help build a strong defense. If you are facing charges, reach out to an experienced DUI attorney today.
A person under the age of 21 who is charged with a DUI can expect to go to criminal court for something that they might not have ever experienced as a young person. They will have to pay various fines and fees whether they are the traffic fines, towing vehicle and impound fines, alcohol evaluation, even fines for Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition if they are eligible for ARD.
Aside from that, they could be facing a possible insurance premium increased up to $1,000 per year or even cancellation of their policy if they are convicted of DUI. If their license is suspended, then they could have license restoration fees. A defendant can also expect to have their driver’s license suspended and possibly face probation or jail time. Due to these penalties, it is crucial for a defendant to obtain an underage DUI lawyer in Delaware County as soon as possible.
For a first-offense DUI and no prior arrest, prosecutors and judges may be willing to look at mitigation explanation of a circumstance by an attorney and consider this a onetime offense, or mistake. However, multiple DUIs or multiple criminal charges at a young age can indicate a real problem to prosecutors and judges.
If someone is just above the age of 18 and have had repeated interaction with the criminal justice system, they may be looked at more harshly for having so many infractions repeatedly at a young age.
A family dealing with a first DUI for a young family member should talk to and consult with a Delaware County underage DUI attorney. Before that first court date comes up, the family should speak to and retain an attorney so that when it does appear on the court system and the case is filed, they already know who to contact and have a person for the court to get in contact with if there are any concerns about their case or about the child. In that way, the interruption to the young person’s life, whether it is school or work, will be minimized. Also, the court in the past execution will know that the family has taken the matter seriously and already retained a legal counsel as soon as possible.
There are many benefits of hiring a defense attorney if you are facing DUI charges. A Delaware County underage DUI lawyer will be experienced in these cases and could possibly help you reach a favorable result in your situation. Call today and set up a consultation with a well-versed legal professional.