Bucks County Domestic Violence Lawyer

If you have received a domestic violence charge, you are probably feeling threatened and anxious. In these times, it’s important to remember that you have options. A Bucks County domestic violence lawyer in Pennsylvania can sit down with you and work to determine what the best course of action by assessing your unique needs and circumstances.

Working With a Bucks County Domestic Violence Attorney

Domestic violence cases can be messy and complicated due to the relationship between the alleged victim and the one accused of violence. In addition to facing jail time from criminal charges, the defendant may face the upheaval of losing their home and access to their children. Opting to work with a Bucks County domestic violence lawyer can be the difference between, for example, maintaining custody of your children and having that right taken away by the court.

The attorneys at our firm understand that there are two sides to every dispute, and that sometimes the facts of a case are blown out of proportion when a charge is filed.  When you call us, we’ll conduct your free initial consultation and determine how a Bucks County domestic violence lawyer can be of service to you.

What Constitutes Domestic Violence?

Forms of abuse include:

  • bodily injury or serious bodily injury
  • rape
  • sexual assault
  • false imprisonment
  • any form of child abuse
  • any threat that would put someone in fear of bodily injury

Domestic violence takes place between people who are in the same family, live in the same household, or share an intimate connection. Under Section 6102 of the Pennsylvania Code, abuse can include a variety of different forms
The list to the right is not exhaustive; basically, anything someone allegedly does to place a family member in physical or mental danger can qualify as domestic violence. If you are accused of domestic violence, an experienced Bucks County domestic violence lawyer can help you minimize the disruption caused by a protective order.

Powers of a Protective Order

Under Section 6108 of the Pennsylvania Code, a judge has the right to issue a protective order that can:

  • kick you out of your own house
  • force you to provide suitable alternate housing for the plaintiff
  • award temporary custody of any minor children (this could range from shared custody, to visitation with supervision, all the way up to a complete denial of access to your own children)
  • force you to pay support to the plaintiff
  • prohibit any contact with plaintiff and kids (including going to their place of work or school)
  • force you to pay losses for abuse (medical, dental, counseling, moving, etc.)

Protective orders can last up to 3 years, and can be renewed any number of times. Possible reasons for renewal include if another instance of abuse happened after the issuance of the first order or if there is a contempt charge (for violating the order) against the defendant.

Penalties For Violating A Domestic Violence Protective Order

Under Section 6113 of the Pennsylvania Code, a police officer can arrest you for violation of a protective order on nothing more than probable cause. Once arrested, you face a trial for criminal contempt under Section 6114 of the Pennsylvania Code. If you are found guilty, penalties can include:

  • a fine from $300 to $1,000
  • imprisonment or supervised probation for up to 6 months
  • a new protective order or an extension of the original one

Working With A Bucks County Domestic Violence Attorney

The lawyers at our firm are sensitive to the incredibly personal nature of domestic violence charges.  We have experience working with clients who are on the receiving end of things such as protective orders, and our Bucks County domestic violence lawyers know what it takes to rise above such charges.

Call a Bucks County domestic violence lawyer today to schedule a free consultation.